top of page

Making my own Nativity Scene

So last year I was looking at buy a Nativity scene to buy but I just couldn’t find one that I really liked that wasn’t a huge cost!

The Elves brought Phoebe a foam one as part of her advent but it didn’t last that long! It was cute though! There was a donkey and a camel!

This was Nativity 1 and then I had to make another one nativity 2 and that didn’t last that long either!

So I suddenly I realised I could make my own! I decided to do it in clay for our mantle piece and then a felt one for Phoebe to play with! (I’ve started on the clay one first!)

I was so excited because the New Range had opened in my local town which means I now have a craft section very close to me so if I need something then I can pop out and grab something!

So I bought clay and as soon as I got home I got making. Unusually I didn’t draw my designs out but I was actually inspired by my brothers nativity scene he made back in primary school! He wrapped a piece of clay round the figure so it looked like a big cloak! I liked that idea and then I went on to develop my ideas.

This is my mother’s nativity which when we were younger, we would go and collect moss for the roof from the garden. The king and donkey on either side are my brothers characters! He some how managed to make the donkey stay up (pretty good!)

I started with Mary, Joseph and baby Jesus in his crib. I made the crib with dangling straw over the side. I found the halo’s quite hard to make thin but definitely going to get the tool to make small strands of clay! I also though Josep’s hair kinda looked like Justin Timberlakes hair back in the 90’s early 00’s! Oh well!

I decided that the wooden slices gave the scene a unique look (more rustic/log cabin chic) I made the figures by moulding them with just my hands with a brush and a skewer to create my pieces!


I then decided to pick different outfits and turbans for each of the wiseme/3 kings! (I will give them gems in their turbans too!)

I enjoyed designing them! I looked at different nativities and I decided to to create a more friendly/cute set rather than a really traditional set because it’s felt more my style! Obviously the wiseman need their camel because I‘m guessing carrying all those gifts that far would be hard work. I remember, I struggled carry our gifts once over on a ferry as foot passengers I looked like bag lady! I remember getting some funny looks walking past with the giant Santa sacks!

I still stand my my theory about the Virgin Mary having the first baby shower in the world! Just sayin’ !

So I also did the shepherd with one big sheep and then I thought he needs a baby (lamb) sheep too! They are soooo cute!

Then the last was one was the Angel Gabriel and I felt that the Angel needed to carry something so I made her carry a little heart, sharing the love and joy!

With her dress wrapped round she looks a bit ummmm well..........curvy but I think she looks really cute and a friendly Angel! I had to sit her Halo on her head as technical difficulties of making it float above her head were proving rather difficult! I think it looks cute though!

So this is my full set and I will be grabbing more clay to start my next project and next nativity scene! I think I will do the chess set now So watch this space! I also have to make a felt nativity scene that my daughter can play with, I might make it with Velcro I think !


Oh and Festive Friends for our wedding anniversary in June, we are doing Junemas (thanks to Aldi), a full Christmas dinner with Christmas crackers in my lovely new My Christmas Emporium cabin. It’s not long to installation! Watch this space for the blog post of my journey to make My Christmas Emporium dream come true!


Byeeeeee Festive friends XX

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page