top of page

5th Transplant Anniversary

Where has that time gone? From this…….


I know these pics aren't that glamorous but they are important to remind myself where I was and where I am now and how proud I really should be of myself. I forget to give myself a break most of the time. I really have achieved a lot in the last 5 years especially. I will never forget my donor and his brave decision.


I took 100 days of photos to show my journey. It’s amazing to see how much has changed!

My first year post transplant and my first anniversary! I have struggled with my weight due to my steroids (you may see me look quite different from each year!)

My second anniversary was even more special because I was expecting our miracle daughter!

It was amazing to find out that we were having our baby girl and celebrating my 2nd Anniversary at the same time was just a lovely gift too!

My 3rd Transplant Anniversary was dinner on our Cruiseship and it was an amazing and a real treat! The staff made this cake which was lovely and then sang a Happy Anniversary song to the melody of Happy Birthday (which made us laugh and the rest of dinner guest very confused as to what was actually going on!) As you can see they weren’t entirely sure what to write on my cake! (Lol!) My present was this beautiful book, Christmas Highclere just before we headed out to our cruise ship! (You all know I'm obsessed with Christmas and Downton Abbey......so......!)

My 4th Transplant Anniversary was slightly different as we were in and out of lockdowns! So we decided to just celebrate a little at home! I got this beautiful pumpkin pot which is my favourite thing to bake Camembert in! It is my favourite festive dish for autumn. Started a new obsession of seasonal serving ware..... who knew!

My 5th Kidney Anniversary this year I got a Christmas mug from my year I was born 1986 (there's a theme here you may have noticed.....) and a beautiful dress ready for next years sunflower photos! It's a tiny bit snug so some work to do!

We also stayed at home for our meal with a Global Pandemic and a cheeky toddler it was tricky!

The minute the balloon came home my little monkey had grabbed it and did a runner (she's quick too!) We managed to negotiate the hostage situation which took a lot of bribery and pleading, eventually the negotiations came to an end and demands were met and we managed to take a few quick pics before it was returned to it's new owner! 9/10 of the law is possession or something like that!

(Fun fact I had to flip this image because when I took the photo I thought the balloon had come out backwards doing a selfie but I forgot it automatically changes it!) I turned the balloon round so it was facing backward so when I went to retake the photo it would be right but i realised it was wrong, so we tried to reclaim the balloon but soon realised it was a lost mission! (you can't see the tiny human on the other end grabbing it's string in the above pic!)

Normally my photos are better but I was rushing (and trying not to cause an explotion with a helium balloon near to candles-it was stressfull! Candles were promptly blown out!) So this is what I got! I also, no longer have my selfie stick/tripod as it got broken by tiny hands that seem to get into anything and everything!


I’m most proud of my starter which I made to look very pretty and it was delicious! Scallops on a bed of rocket with asparagus wrapped in Parma ham and a drizzle of honey! Soooooo good!

We had steak for our main with peppercorn sauce! I was going to have baked Camembert for dessert but I was so full! I definitely think when I host Christmas it could be the starter!

On this day, we celebrate and remember my donor and his family! They made a brave choice and he saved my life and gave life to my miracle daughter!


It’s a time to reflect and be grateful for his brave and selfless act and pure gift! We will also remember him at Christmas with his Angel Wings decoration at the top of our tree.


One last point, that's not spoken about but I feel I should probably mention it. I can only describe it as survivors guilt. I struggle with guilt about that feeling of not living every day to the fullest. I feel I should be trekking up mountains and jumping out of planes but I just can't! I defiantly have a fear of edges so no sheer drops or jumping out of planes or bungee jumping for me. I am trying to give back in other ways though. Giving back to the Renal Ward at Christmas and children in foster care. I still have that thing though sometimes I where feel bad for having a lazy Sunday just chilling out and not going out on adventures!


I guess this will get better over time! However, I think that's why I celebrate a lot of special events and I do put extra effort into those to make them special. I suppose that is a nice way to remember my donor by celebrating life in general and not be risking my Gift!


On that note ToodleXX



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page