top of page

Christmas at Dollywood


So I saw someone ask about this film on ONE-yes I’m on more than one Christmas group. There was a lot of negativity about the film. I actually liked that it felt a bit different to some of the other Christmas films. I liked that it’s about event planners putting on a Christmas event. Having been on a Christmas committee and trying to help organise a Christmas event in my home town, I like to see the process (I found our event quite a challenge.) I was also maybe borrowing ideas for my future plans!

I did do a quick calculation of all the lights, trees and props and it would be eye-watering to recreate that look. But being creative I definitely can do a lot of this styling myself! I can’t wait to decorate my log cabin!

The decorations are lovely and I can appreciate the sets and all the effort they go to! I love the American style of decorating (my blog’s not called Mini New Yorker for nothing-I feel a great affinity with the American style).

We looked at getting one of these little trains for our event (it was literally the whole budget- I nearly fell off my unicorn when we got the cost! Haha if you know my favourite quote then this will make more sense!)


There are definitely some similarities, Rachel to me (I feel), she’s an events planner (I want to plan Christmas events in the future!) She’s a writer who wants to write children‘s books (Also on my to-do list!) She loves Christmas and has so many ideas (like me-I’m constantly coming up with new ideas and plans to make, create etc!) I will often turn to my hubby and say I have an idea………I think he must be like oh goodness what now? But actually he’s my biggest cheerleader and I told him an idea the other day and it’s a big one but he loved the idea and was fully on board! (Wink wink watch this space!)

Now Dolly gives out children‘s books and has a massive library of books. Rachel comes to the realisation that she could be a writer by being inspired by Dolly’s Imagination Library and she starts writing again. I think I will be writing my book ideas again when I’m in my log cabin! I need a quiet space, where I can enjoy the process. I did come up with a new twist for my book. I also keep coming up with new children’s book ideas! They do say your child is the best inspiration and P constantly gives me new ideas! Rachel tells her own daughter lots of stories and comes up with the final idea!

They definitely run into the problems of creating a big event. With glitchy tree lights, to huge expectations, it’s not easy! Spoiler, the event goes well and Rachel decides to stay and Luke decides to pass on the other job offer! Dolly loves the parade and the tree lighting and gives Rachel some great advice.

Dolly says to Rachel “you can have what you want if you believe you can have it” She’s saying believe in yourself and you will get what you want!


Dolly also says her philosophy is ”to those that say it can’t be done, would you just stop interrupting those of us who are doing it.” I love this! It’s basically saying that-don’t listen to others who aren’t following their dreams!


Then Rachel comes to the realisation that she can follow her dream. Rachel says to Luke “you can have your dream” when she realises there’s everything she wants right there!

A year later Rachel’s book is picked for Dolly’s Imagination library, Luke gives it to her from under the tree and the film ends with Luke and Rachel’s kiss! I thought he was going to pull out a ring but the book is a lovely ending.

I am currently making Phoebe’s Elf on the Shelf book ready to print for her! This is really inspiring me to get writing again and finish my ideas.

I enjoyed the film from a personal view because it really resonates with me! I also love Dolly and I will definitely be buying her red vinyl Christmas album when I get my record player. I love that Dolly gives away books to children too and maybe one day I will send her a book I’ve made-who knows! I’d also love to visit Dollywood at Christmas too!


Right I have soooo many more movies to review and I will literally be here till Christmas!


Toodles Festive FriendsXX


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page