top of page

Vintage fashion for Modern Women

So firstly I would like to say I don’t wear swing dresses all the time because sometimes it’s just not practical with a toddler (in my opinion!) However when I do wear my swing dresses, I may also have to point out I’m not a purist! I love to have fun with my dresses! I love border dresses (ones that have illustrations at the bottom going up the dress.) Lindy Bop was my absolute favourite brand, unfortunately during the pandemic or possibly before it, they went into administration. I went back to the site to get a Christmas dress last year (because I’ve now started my Christmas dress collection) and it wasn't trading any more! I was quite devastated because their style of dresses were so fun! Most of my dresses are from them! I’m now scoring the internet and Facebook sites to find these beautiful dresses that I would say are little works of art! I love to show my character through my fashion when I am feeling glamorous!

This is my “hot air balloons over Paris“ dress! I love it but it’s silk fabric so it’s only worn when I’m going out for a meal or if it’s a day out with the family! (The heels have been abandoned since this photo because they're not that practical, chasing after a toddler now!) This is the point of this post, how to wear these dresses in modern situations (like a mum to a lively toddler!) I definitely had my fair share of Marilyn Monroe moments (if you know you know!) So that’s definitely an issue to sort out! I’ve also subsequently had my layered petticoat get ruined in the wash so that’s another challenge on how to wash these clothes without damaging them! They are my prized collection and I want to continue to build up my collection. I’m definitely inspired by Ugly Betty in fashion choices later on in the series where she still kept her style of vibrant choices of colour and bold patterns but looks more elegant! I’m not a boring person (well I think so you may think differently) and I have been told over and over that my choice of fashion has mixed reviews! I don’t really care anymore as I wear what I want and that’s just me!

I absolutely love this bike (which is my mother-in-law’s bike, it’s for the photos but would love my own one day!) Again a beautiful example of modern but vintage style!

This was my first swing dress, this is definitely me in my most comfortable place drinking a cup of tea! I always say that the best walks start and end with a nice cup of tea! I love the way I’ve twisted my hair in the pic, lately though it’s mostly mum buns or I hate to admit a bit of dry shampoo to sort the mess of my hair out (I blame lockdown and a pandemic!) I love my little Pearl necklace and it does make me feel elegant but again my toddler loves to pull on any jewellery! So I’m going to have to think of a way to keep them safe!

This was me in a Wiggle skirt many moons ago when I was a lot slimmer and before I was ill! I felt rather glamorous in it and the Giant sunglasses (which take up half my face!) I’m definitely inspired by “Call the Midwife“ fashion- I absolutely love Trixies style and Mrs Turner's fashion (after leaving her religious life behind, I mean quite different styles but both equally lovely!)

Talking of Trixie, I loved her coats in the winter episodes and I found my own coat that I fell in love with!

It definitely makes me look like a Victorian Christmas Carol singer! (Not going to lie I love it- it’s such a statement coat and it has paid for itself in compliments!) The little cape does come off too so it can look more conventional (but I don't do conventional- I don't really do Vanilla!)

When I went on our cruise (I was in Amsterdam outside this Cheese shop-I would have taken a whole one of those cheeses home but it was a small fortune!) I literally lived in my dresses. This posed a bit of a problem when I forgot to pack an outfit for putting on when we had to put our life jackets on during the safety briefing, so there's a bit of an awkward moment where I was trying to wrap it through my layers of petticoats and then wrap the strap through my legs to keep it on (I definitely won’t make that mistake again-I looked ridiculous!)

I think I gave up on trying to sort it out! This was literally as soon as we got on board so I would say (I may need to concede that a swing dress doesn't work in a cruise safety briefing!!)

ANYWAY.............................

This was my “little vintage shop“ dress it’s lovely and I wore it to dinner on our cruise! I definitely feel this is a more summer dress and I look forward to wearing again this spring/summer! This was one of my last dresses I bought! This is the style I love with the pattern at the bottom!

(yes that is a GIANT lobster behind me!)


I also wore it for our last year’s Easter Hunt in our garden!

These are two other border dresses, one is my “Lake Como” dress and the other one is my “Retro Brighton Beach” dress. My Brighton Beach dress, unfortunately it does show a lot of my dialysis scars but I pair it with a nice Cardigan or Bolero because otherwise people just stare (I might start saying they're a shark bite-haha!!) Also it’s a more difficult dress to wear a normal well you know.............

underneath so I have get a special one not to show the straps!) It's probably my least favourite out of all of my dresses but I still like it a lot! I think my Lake Como dress is my favourite out of these two because I’ve been there and I loves its scenes!

This is like the building on my dress but Unfortunately NO George Clooney!

The one good thing about these dresses is that they did cover my baby bump in the first trimester very well because I did show very early on! This dress is more of a winter dress even though it has short sleeves it’s got snow, a sleeping fox and Christmas trees on it! I do try to wear the dresses in the right seasons like my two Christmas dresses but occasionally I do wear them outside of the festive season.

My favourite dress of all is my “Ice Skating in Central Park” dress and I had to really hunt for this dress because It wasn‘t on Lindy Bop’s website! I found it eventually and it’s my pride and joy of my collection! My other dress is my lovely sweetheart neckline “Nutcracker“ dress which I matched with Phoebe on our first (well really second Christmas)

My Christmas dresses will be great for when I’m in My Christmas Emporium garden studios and I’m taking photos for my online shop (to be launched as soon as I can get my studio delivered and installed!)

I decided that I wanted to try buffalo check because I have really got into American Christmas themes/styles this year. This dress also came with a detachable faux fur collar which makes it look more festive and glamorous! I also matched the whole of our family in it! I like matching dresses!

My newest dresses are for my birthday! The first dress is from my mother. I chose it because it was such a fun pattern and great for spring/summer that I can wear as soon as we are free from lockdown! It reminds me of the “Number one Lady Detective Agency” illustrations and I loved those books! So my birthday present arrived early and as I opened it Phoebe got so upset because the dress wasn’t for her! (I hadn’t been ready for the complete meltdown about my dress!) On my birthday though she was saying “mummy’s dress“ which was so cute! I think this could be my Easter outfit because it’s lovely and bright!

My second dress has a wizarding pattern on it but I’m calling it my “Harry Potter“ dress! I’m a huge fan of Harry Potter and I definitely will be channelling the wizarding world with this second dress! I also think I’m one of the first people to order the dress Ava in that Fabric so I’m also going to be unique but we all knew that anyway! The designer is ’Ooh Betty Clothing’ and she is so lovely and really quick and great service! I definitely will be ordering from her lovely company!

I’m a Gryffindor I was literally sorted by this sorting hat At the Harry Potter Studios!

I can’t wait try my new dresses on and after lockdown take them out for a spin!

I’ll be excited to wear it on my next visit to the Wizarding Studios! I think I need to wear a belt with it and my frilly petticoat under it to show its great swishing ability! I will definitely be wearing my dress while I’m doing a spot of HP crafting in my new studio too!

Right well I off to rewatch some Call the Midwife (love this show and the fashion and interiors is definitely my favourite eras now!) Byeeeeee my Festive Friends XX


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page