top of page

Sunflower Landyard and what they mean....


So as many of you know I’m an advocate for raising awareness of Organ Donation, Kidney Disease/ failure and my story.


So when I was ill, I remember people saying things like “you don’t looks Ill!” Or “so when you get your transplant you will be cured” or “oh so on dialysis you get to sleep..... oh I’d love an extra 4 hour nap” or “your hands are shaking are you nervous” (no I’m on medication that makes them do that!) ! These were just a few of the Gems people loved to say to people like me who’s illness is hidden, because apparently “ I didn’t look ill!” I beg to differ I looked like S*** but that’s just my own personal thoughts! I looked like a jelly fish to be honest I was so anaemic, I looked transparent ! Anyway my point is you can’t always tell if someone has a disability or an illness and I got quite good and pretending to be ok just so I wouldn’t have to explain it but it meant that people didn’t realise that if I was walking slowly it was because I was exhausted and needed to sit down or lean against something just to keep myself standing upright because the pain all over my body was horrendous and that constant nausea that you would try to hide with a smile. Sometimes I just felt awful but in a world where people weren’t as understanding, I feel this pandemic has brought to life what the people in the vunerable group actually looks like! You may have preconceived ideas, that a young (ish) mum with a toddler wouldn’t be in that group but looks are very descieving! So if you see a person in a Sunflower lanyard ask them if they need any support. We have gone out of our way to order and wear one, so people should be aware of social distancing and the support they can offer-ps we won’t be offended if you do offer help! All shops here in the UK should understand what it means!

If someone is wearing this and not wearing a mask there is a reason don’t be a “karen” and jump to conclusion (I’m not trying to offend anyone that is the term now coined for anyone shown to be being ignorant!)


Just food for thought!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page