top of page

My radio interviw on BBC Solent for Organ Donation Week

So some of you may remember/know me being interviewed back in 2018 just after we announced that we were expecting our daughter. So for those who didn't hear it we spoke about my kidney transplant and my story. This time it was lovely to catch up with BBC Solent’s Steve Harris and his team. We spoke about my journey and where I was to where am now. I'm very open about my story because I think by sharing it, it may help others going through it and bringing awareness to our community.


Steve asked me

How it it has changed my life?


Me:

It's completely different, I was able to have my daughter for a start, that was very much a question. I was able to go back to work and do normal activities that anyone of my age would do (I laughed a little here because I didn't want to say that I now mid 30's and feeling it lol!) and be an active mum and do family walks and other activities it‘s so amazing, it's definitely given my life back. I do count it as my second chance, I do try and live every day to the best for my donor and his family as well. I try and make the most of my gift.


Steve said:

The Law around Organ Donation has changed, it's an Op Out rather than an Op In now but it is still important to have to conversation about sharing your wishes?

Me:

It’s very important because some families, they do struggle with the decision and knowing that the person has made that decision to donate. I think it gives them a bit more peace of mind if you can say it like that, they know what their relative wanted and they can go with their wishes. Because a lot of families unfortunately don’t say yes to donation because they don’t know what their relative wanted. It’s very important to have the conversation and it’s becoming more of a conversation with the law being passed, it definitely brought it to the front of everyone’s minds, and people are more aware of it. It’s also on driving licences now, you have to tick a box. People are more aware but I think the conversation still has to be had.


Steve:

What about your Donor finally Katrina, 5 years on, from him making that impact on you? How often do you think about him and mumble thanks under your breath?


Me:

All the time, (I laughed nervously here) I celebrated my 5th Anniversary of my gift on the 14th of September and I took a minute to remember him. I'm regularly thinking of him and his family and the brave decision and selfless act that he chose to save someone, but also he helped create my daughters life as well. Not only did he save 7/8 peoples lives but he helped create a new life as well.




Steve: That's Katrina Vernon from Weymouth talking about her kidney transplant at the end of this Organ Donation week, she's hoping to compete in the Transplant Games so we'll keep an eye on that.


Update


I have contacted an Archery club and I am hoping to visit in the next few weekends to try it out and then potentially practise this sport for the games. What this space guys!


Toodles XX






Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page