top of page

Escape to the Chateau (& DIY) Review


I loved watching this program and it was great watching Dick and Angel working on their French chateau. Dick was an engineer in the Army and Angel had a vintage party business. You definitely need many skills to renovate a chateau. You need to be carpenter, an engineer, a builder, a plumber, a furniture maker, a gardener, a chef, a registrar, a wedding coordinator and many other skills. I think secretly we would all want to own our own little castle. Mine would be a little Scottish castle with a Christmas tree farm attached. One day we may get something like this but I think right now Dorset is where we are at (not sure there's many small castles going spare around here.) If I can't get a castle I wouldn't mind a small Edinburgh house one day either, I'm still obsessed with Scotland (that's another post) and still really want to visit (this year hopefully!)

Anyway back to the chateau, it's a great program and I can really be inspired by Angel designing things out of thin air and how she throws events with her very natural/rustic style. Her book is brilliant and the chateau style is definitely an extension of the book. I love the beautiful butterflies going up their large staircase. I was thinking I have quite a large long wall in my hall but it's narrow so not a great space for artwork but I think what she has done would work in my hall too.

The show is now doing Escape to the Chateau DIY- which is helping other chateau owners with sorting their chateaus and helping their struggling businesses get off the ground. I was amazed that in London the chateau owners had sold their flat and bought a massive chateau in France. It's crazy that people live in tiny properties in London but by moving away you could have land and an amazing lifestyle.

These were some of my tweets while watching the show, you can tell I get quite into it and I was gutted how quickly the episode went by. I really hope that they do a Christmas special, that would be brilliant. It's so addictive and you really get absorbed in it, I swear Dick Strawbridge can make anything! One minute he will be helping someone make a bridge then the next he's built a floating pontoon igloo camping tent on their moat (mind boggles) or a spit roast! There's nothing that man can't make! They helped loads of couples and some couples did well but I always wondered why it was always a last minute dash to fix things like a toilet or build things they need for that day!!! I guess with a list as long as your arm with places like that they just never run out of things to do!!

Anyway a brilliant show and totally addictive watching and I look forward to season 2!!

Toodles XXx


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page